Fortnite Gratuits Premium Netflix Gratuits
Avon girls take 2nd in seeded race at Wickham Invitational – The Collinsville Press
Connect with us


Avon girls take 2nd in seeded race at Wickham Invitational

CP canterbury a, graphicMANCHESTER, Oct. 11 – The Avon High cross country program took their annual trial run on the home course of the CIAC state championship meets Saturday – Wickham Park. Led by senior Molly Hamel, the Avon girls finished second in the seeded race behind Londonderry, N.H.

Londonderry had four runners in the top 25 while Avon had two. Christina Martin also earned a top 20 finish by taking 14th.  The Avon girls took second in the seeded race for the third straight year.

The Avon boys took fifth in the seeded race led by Collin Pritchard, who finished 14th. 

In the girls junior varsity race, Gillian Reyes (22:43) was seventh and Hannah Carpino (23:20) was tenth. In the boys freshman race, Jack Stokesbury (15:57) was tenth in a shorter 2.7 mile race. Ashley Martin was fifth in the girls freshman race in 19:23 and Sara Leavens (20:02) was 11th. 

Girls Seeded
Top teams: 1. Londonderry, NH 113, 2. Avon 130, 3. Smithfield RI 135, 4. Newtown 179, 5. Old Saybrook 200.
Top individuals: 1. Haley Hasty, Rockville, 19:14 for 3.1 miles at Wickham Park, Manchester, 2. Danae Rivers, Wilbur Cross 19:42, 3. Sarah Mawdsley, Newtown, 20:01, 4. Samantha Drop, Coginchaug 20:03, 5. Hannah Springhorn, Hopkins 20:08
Avon runners: 8. Molly Hamel 20:38, 14. Christina Martin 20:59, 30. Rachel Martin 21:30, 37. Ryley Higgins 21:44, 41. Gabriella Colletti 21:50, 70. Kristen Goldie 22:45, 112. Erin McGuire 23:57

Boys seeded
Top teams: 1. Ledyard 167, 2. Nashua North NH 183, 3. Nashua South NH 193, 4. Manchester 240, 5. Avon 242, 6. Scituate RI 261. 33 teams in the race
Top individuals: 1. Eric Vanderels, McMahon, 16:30 for 3.1 miles at Wickham Park, Manchester, 2. Christian Alberico, Coginchaug 16:33, 3. Michael Stoker, South Windsor 16:35, 4. Omar Abdelsame, Plainville 16:47, 5. Palmer Weimann, Farmington 16:50
Avon runners: 14. Collin Pritchard 17:38, 36. Bryant St. Jean 18:00, 41. Andrew Suter 18:04, 56. Kurt Goldie 18:24, 95, Brett Holtzman 19:00, 136. Greg Oberhausen 19:38, 211. James Grant 22:29

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 35 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Avon