Connect with us

Football

Avon, Granby/Canton placed into Class M for football this fall

Lineman Gabe DeJesus (51) opens up a path for Avon running back Jadon Folkwein in a game against East Catholic last September.

The CIAC football committee has released their 2019 football championship packet that includes the breakdown of what teams will be in their respective divisions – Class LL, L, M and S.

Avon slips down from Class L to Class M while the new Granby/Canton co-op team moves up from Class S to Class M.

The Granby/Canton co-op team is one of four new co-op programs in 2019 along with Trinity Catholic/Wright Tech, Trumbull High and St. Joseph and Griswold with Wheeler. The CIAC granted a one-year approval for the Granby/Canton co-op in May.

Avon will open the 2019 campaign at Bloomfield on Friday, Sept. 13, at 7 p.m., before opening their new synthetic turf field on Saturday, Sept. 21, at 1 p.m. against Tolland. Construction on the $3 million facility began in April and is expected to be completed this summer.

Among Avon’s games this fall will be a game with the Central Connecticut Conference’s newest member Lewis Mills of Burlington on Saturday, Oct. 5, at 1 p.m. in Avon. The Falcons currently have three night games scheduled – all on the road (Bloomfield, Berlin, Simsbury).

Granby/Canton open the season on Friday, Sept. 13, by traveling to face Stafford/East Windsor/Somers co-op at 6:30 p.m. The Bears open the home season on Friday, Sept. 20, when they host Ellington.

As part of the co-op agreement, one home game will be played in Canton. The co-op program will host Rockville in Canton on Friday, Sept. 27.

August 19 will be the first day of conditioning for teams that did not conduct spring practice with August 24 the first day in pads and August 28 the first day for a scrimmage.

The season opens on September 12. The state tournament quarterfinals will be December 3 with the semifinals on December 8 and the championship games on Dec. 14.

2019 CIAC football information packet

2019 schedules
Avon
Friday, Sept. 13: at Bloomfield, 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sept 21: Tolland, 1 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 28: Guilford, 1 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 5: Lewis Mills, 1 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 19: Bulkeley/HMTCA/Weaver, 1 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 26: at Northwest Catholic, 10:30 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 1: at Berlin, 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 9: Plainville, 1 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 15: at Rocky Hill, 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 26: at Simsbury, 6:30 p.m.

Granby/Canton
Friday, Sept. 13: at Stafford/East Windsor/Somers, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 20: Ellington, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 27: vs. Rockville at Canton, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 4: at SMSA/University/Classical, 6 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 11: at Haddam-Killingworth, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 25: Windsor Locks/Suffield/East Granby, 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 2: at Coginchaug/East Hampton/Hale Ray, 1 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 8: at Coventry/Windham Tech/Bolton/Lyman, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 15: Gilbert/Northwestern, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 22: Old Saybrook/Westbrook, 6:30 p.m.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in Football