Fortnite Gratuits Premium Netflix Gratuits
Avon volleyball team finishes No. 2 in final top 10 coaches poll – The Collinsville Press
Connect with us

Girls Volleyball

Avon volleyball team finishes No. 2 in final top 10 coaches poll

The Avon High volleyball team and their fans celebrate the first state title in school history in volleyball. More photos from the Class L championship match

The Trumbull High girls volleyball team turned in a tremendous performance in the Class LL tournament. After losing in the championship match of the FCIAC Tournament, the No. 8 Eagles didn’t drop a single game in five matches to capture the Class LL championship with a 3-0 win over Westhill-Stamford.

It was the first state title in girls volleyball for Trumbull High. The Eagles achieved another first on Tuesday night. They were voted as the No. 1 team in the state top 10 coaches poll for the first time with a tight four-vote win over Class L champion Avon in balloting by 27 coaches from across the state.

Avon and Trumbull both received 12 first place votes but the Eagles (21-4) finished with 490 points while Avon (23-2) finished with 486 votes. RHAM, which lost to Avon in the Class L semifinals, 3-2, still received a pair of first place votes while Westhill, which lost to Trumbull in the Class LL title game, received one first place vote.

Avon rallied from a 2-1 deficit in the Class L semifinals to beat RHAM, 3-2 and earn a spot in the championship match for the first time in program history. The Falcons swept Guilford, 3-0, to win their first-ever state title.

Class M champion Seymour (24-1) finished fourth with Westhill finishing fifth. Class S champion Lyman Memorial (21-3) was ranked sixth.

It was one of the closest final top 10 polls since the Hartford Courant began the coaches poll in 1988.

In 1995, Darien edged Amity by 2½ points for the top spot in the poll. In 1991, Bristol Eastern and St. Joseph-Trumbull each had four first place votes but Eastern edged St. Joseph by six votes to earn the No. 1 ranking. In 2004, Bunnell had seven first place votes while Darien earned eight. But Bunnell beat Darien by eight votes to earn the top spot in the poll.

It’s the best-ever ranking for Avon in the year-end top 10 poll. The previous best finish was a seventh place ranking by the Falcons in 2002 when Avon finished the year 20-1. The Falcons were ranked No. 13 in 2005.

Trumbull and Avon didn’t meet on the court this year.

Volleyball state top 10 coaches poll
FINAL: Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Team Rec. Pts LW Class
1. Trumbull (12) 21-4 490 nr LL
2. Avon (12) 23-2 486 7 L
3. RHAM (2) 22-2 350 1 L
4. Seymour 24-1 320 10 M
5. Westhill (1) 23-4 302 5 LL
6. Lyman Memorial 21-3 220 nr S
t7. Bristol Eastern 23-2 176 2 L
t7. Guilford 23-4 176 8 L
9. Fairfield Ludlowe 23-4 150 3 LL
10. Greenwich 19-3 84 6 LL
Also receiving votes: Waterford (21-6) 72, Coventry (23-1) 38, Lyman Hall (7-13) 28, Woodstock Academy (19-6) and Hale Ray (22-4) 22
Coaches voting: Jack Biggs, East Lyme; Angie Kumm, Berlin; Steve Goodrich, SMSA; Jon Shepor, Staples; Tony Nocera, New Milford; Nichole Trimmelen, Trumbull; Rich Heitz, Southington; Jeff Babineau, St. Joseph; Steve Lapham, Greenwich; Curt Burns, Avon; Cathy Federowicz, Seymour; Harold Branstrom, Montville; Michael Stango, Kennedy; Judy Joslin, Enfield; Laura Arena, Farmington; Tony Sanith, Glastonbury; Mike Smeriglio, Stamford; Steve Banks, Fitch; Adaeze Merah, Bulkeley; Michelle Abraham, New Britain; Craig Brown, East Haven; Seth Davis, Amity; Tim Guernsey, RHAM; Peter Georgiou, Brien McMahon; Kerry Roller, Conard; Kevin Savejs, Maloney


State top 10 volleyball poll champions
2019 – Trumbull
2018 – Joel Barlow
2017 – RHAM
2016 – RHAM
2015 – Platt
No poll conducted in 2013 and 2014
2012 — Coventry
2011 — Coventry
2010 — Coventry
2009 — RHAM
2008 – Darien
2007 – Darien
2006 – Bunnell
2005 – Darien
2004 – Bunnell
2003 – Darien
2002 – Morgan
2001 – Morgan
2000 – Sheehan
1999 – New Britain
1998 – Darien
1997 – St. Joseph
1996 – Darien
1995 – Darien
1994 – Darien
1993 – Darien
1992 – St. Joseph
1991 – Bristol Eastern
1990 – Amity
1989 – Amity
1988 – Maloney

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in Girls Volleyball