Connect with us


Pequot Conference awards post-season honors

The Pequot Football Conference recently presented their annual Sassacus and Uncas Division All-Star awards.  Rockville’s Henry Tyrus won the league’s Teddy Netcoh award while Morgan’s Drew Nye was the Player of the Year in the Sassacus Division while Ellington’s Dominic Mangiafico was the Player of the Year in the Uncas Division.

Randall Bennett of state champion Cromwell/Portland was named coach of the year. The Panthers won the overall league championship for having the best overall record in the league while Rockville, Granby/Canton and Stafford/East Windsor/Somers shared the Uncas Division title with 5-2 records.

Overall league awards
Sassacus Division Player of the Year: Drew Nye, Morgan
Uncas Division Player of the Year: Dominic Mangiafico, Ellington
Teddy Netcoh Award: Henry Tyus, Rockville
Coach of the Year: Randell Bennett, Cromwell/Portland

2021 Pequot Conference All-Stars

Sassacus Division

QB: Drew Nye, Morgan; Cole Brisson, Cromwell
RB: Alex Hair, Cromwell, Cayden Ortiz, CREC
WR: Teddy Williams, Cromwell, Alex Fratamico, Morgan; Garret Garbinski, Morgan
OL: Matt Binezewski, Cromwell, Ian McKenzie, Valley/OL, Jack Huscher, Coginchaug, Ethan Philbrick, Cromwell, Jack Williams, Cromwell
K: Kevin Cavrell, Haddam-Killingworth
Flex: Di’Angelo Jean-Pierre, Valley/OL

Sassacus Division
DB: James Marsden, Valley/OL; Ben Fagan, Cromwell; Chris Progano, Coginchaug; Ryan Duncanson, HK
LB: Owen Brunk, Cromwell; Dominic Langello, North Branford; Ryan Rozich, Cromwell; Tommy Rapp, Valley/OL
DL: Emeka Yearwood, Cromwell; Connor Lunz, Valley/OL, Alex Grice, CREC; Jordan Armstrong, Morgan
P: Ju’san Thomas, CREC
Utility: Braden Lankarge, Coginchaug

Uncas Division
QB: Mark McLaughlin (Stafford), Zac Killoran (Ellington)
RB: Fred Camp (Gilbert), Dylan Jackson (SMSA)
WR: Mike Bontempo (Ellington), Logan Briggs (Stafford), Ian Thompson (Gilbert)
OL: Henry Tyus (Rockville), Zach Abbruzzese (Ellington), Cooper Boyd (Granby/Canton), Jayden Woods (Stafford), Kyon Wynter (SMSA)
K: Norman Harris (SMSA)
Flex: Aiden Walker (Windsor Locks), Travon Edmondson (Rockville).

Uncas Division
DB: Hason Green (Rockville), Marquis Thomas (Granby/Canton), Nate Russotto (Stafford), Tamir Gamble (SMSA).
LB: Dominic Mangiafico (Ellington), Malachi Mapp (Rockville), Will Attianese (Granby/Canton), Nate Torres (SMSA), Devin Divita (Gilbert)
DL: Dante Mangiafico (Ellington), Amir Knighton (Rockville), John Bruhin (Granby/Canton), Ifeoluwa Oluburde (SMSA)
P: George Horst (Granby/Canton)
Utility: Ellis Thompson (Coventry), De’Shaun Perry (Rockville)


2021 final regular season standings (CIAC results not included)

Pequot Conference Uncas Uncas Overall
y-Rockville 5-2 8-2
y-Granby/Canton 5-2 7-3
y-Stafford/EWindsor/Somers 5-2 6-4
Gilbert/NW Regional/Housatonic 3-2 7-2
Ellington 4-3 7-3
SMSA co-op 3-3 5-4
Coventry/WT/Bolton/Lyman 1-5 3-6
Windsor Locks/Suffield/EG 0-6 1-8

y-shared division title

Pequot Conference Sassacus Sassacus Overall
xz-Cromwell/Portland 7-0 10-0
Morgan 6-1 8-2
Coginchaug/Hale-Ray/East Hampton 4-3 5-5
Valley Regional/Old Lyme 4-3 4-6
North Branford 3-3 3-6
CREC co-op 2-5 3-7
Haddam-Killingworth 1-6 2-8
Old Saybrook/Westbrook 0-6 0-9
x-won overall league championship
z-won Sassacus Division title

2021 CIAC playoff results

Class M
Killingly 49, Gilbert/Northwestern/Housatonic 14
Rockville 27, Ellington 7
Torrington 37, Granby/Canton 29
Rockville 42, Torrington 12
Killingly 28, Rockville 14

Class S
Bloomfield 50, Morgan 18
Cromwell/Portland 29, Notre Dame-Fairfield 20
Cromwell/Portland 46, Ansonia 7
Cromwell/Portland 21, Bloomfield 6

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in Football