Connect with us

PGA Golf

Another three players commit to play at Travelers in Cromwell

Three more golfers have committed to play in Cromwell at the Travelers Championship in June. (Graphic courtesy of Travelers Championship)

HARTFORD, May 29 – Another three players who have combined to win eight PGA Tour events and two major championships have committed to play in the upcoming Travelers Championship at the TPC River Highlands in Cromwell that will feature 14 of the top 25 players in the world.

Louis Oosthuizen, Kevin Kisner and Keegan Bradley have committed to play in this year’s tournament. “They are all playing well this season and will be fantastic additions to our player field, which keeps getting better,” said Nathan Grube, tournament director of the Travelers Championship.

Oosthuizen won the 2010 British Open Championship, one of his 14 professional victories. Seven of those have come on the European Tour, and he’s also won six times in his native South Africa, including the 2018 South African Open. This will be his fifth start at TPC River Highlands.

Kisner won the World Golf Championships-Dell Technologies Match Play title this season, one of three victories in his PGA Tour career. He represented the United States at the 2017 Presidents Cup and is No. 27 in the current Official World Golf Ranking. Kisner has played in the Travelers Championship twice before, in 2011 and 2012.

Bradley has a pair of top 10 finishes this year and is ranked No. 35 in the world. The Vermont native played in the Ryder Cup in 2012 and 2014, and the Presidents Cup in 2013. His best finish in eight Travelers Championship starts is a T8 in 2017.

“With 14 players currently in the top 25 of the world rankings, this is shaping up to be another world-class field,” said Andy Bessette, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer at Travelers. “We’re thrilled that so many of the top players are coming to TPC River Highlands. It should make for a fantastic tournament.”

The other committed top-25 players include Brooks Koepka (No. 1), Justin Thomas (No. 6), Francesco Molinari (No. 7), Bryson DeChambeau (No. 8), Tony Finau (No. 13), Paul Casey (No. 14), Patrick Cantlay (No. 15), Jason Day (No. 16), Tommy Fleetwood (No. 17), defending champion Bubba Watson (No. 18), Patrick Reed (No. 21), two-time winner Phil Mickelson (No. 23) and 2012 champion Marc Leishman (No. 24).

The 2019 Travelers Championship will be held June 17–23 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut. For tickets and more information on this year’s tournament, visit

Since 2009, the Collinsville Press has been providing award-winning coverage of sports and news in the Farmington Valley and across Connecticut.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in PGA Golf