Connect with us


Nominations open for Avon High Athletic Hall of Fame

Some of the first members of the Avon High Athletic Hall of Fame at last May’s induction ceremony. From left: Victor Krasij , Kelly McCollum Sheetz , Madison Kennedy, Bonnie Tyler, Bob Summers, Marty deLivron, Jason Fox, Lindsay Horbatuck and Kia McNeill.  More photos from the induction ceremony

Last May, the Avon High Athletic Hall of Fame held their first-ever induction ceremony with 10 individuals and one team recognized with induction into the long-awaited and highly-anticipated Hall of Fame.

Former coaches Martin deLivron (baseball, boys soccer) and Bonnie Tyler (field hockey, basketball), and former athletic director Bob Summers were honored along with athletes Jason Fox (Class of 1991), Lindsay Horbatuck (2009), Madison Kennedy (2005), Victor Krasij (2001), Kia McNeill (2004), Richard (Dick) Migli (1970) and Kelly McCollum Sheetz (1991).

The 1968 Avon High baseball team that won a Class C state championship was also inducted.

Who should be honored next?

Applications are now open for the next class of athletes and teams to be recognized by the Avon High Athletic Hall of Fame. The public is invited to make nominations. The nomination form can be found at the Hall of Fame’s website.

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2023.

Some members of Avon High’s 1968 baseball team that won the Class C state championship at the Hall of Fame induction dinner. More photos from the induction ceremony

Athletes, coaches and teams not selected for this spring’s induction banquet will remain in consideration for future banquets. All nominations received last year will be reviewed and considered.

Athletes must have graduated from Avon High and can be considered for induction 10 years after their graduation, according to the Hall of Fame’s nomination guidelines. Teams can be considered 10 years after the respective season they are being nominated for. Coaches must have coached at least five years at Avon High.

There is also an opportunity to recognize men and women who are community contributors, based upon their service and dedication to the athletic programs at Avon High.

To learn more about Avon High School’s Hall of Fame and the nomination process, please visit the Hall of Fame website, or contact any of the members of the nomination committee: Maria Mascoli, Selection Committee Chair; Al DadarioSusan DaveyGerry deSimasTim FilonJohn McLaughlinSteve NybergFrank Waters and Terri Ziemnicki.

Photos from the 2022 banquet

Avon Athletic Hall of Fame

Editor’s note: Collinsville Press editor and publisher Gerry deSimas, Jr., who has been covering scholastic sports in the area for more than 40 years, is one of the nine people on the nominating committee that select the men and women to be inducted into the Avon High Athletic Hall of Fame.

Since 2009, the Collinsville Press has been providing award-winning coverage of sports and news in the Farmington Valley and across Connecticut.

More in News