Connect with us


Voters in Avon approve proposal to reconstruct Old Farms Road

On Wednesday, voters in Avon approved a proposal to reconstruct a portion of Old Farms Road near Avon Old Farms school. Pictured is the intersection of Old Farms Road and Scoville Road.

AVON, Dec. 14, 2022 – In a referendum on Wednesday, voters in Avon approved a spending $5.4 million to relocate and reconstruct a section of Old Farms Road near the Avon Old Farms school.

Voters approved the project by a vote of 1,329 to 1,017.

The project would relocate the existing road from approximately 180 feet west of the current road and the project would include a roundabout where Scoville Road meets Old Farms Road and crosswalks, the installation of a multi-use bike trail along Scoville and Old Farms Road and other changes.

A portion of the road from Scoville to Thompson Brook Road would be upgraded along with a section of Old Farms Road going past the main entrance of Avon Old Farms toward the center of Avon.

The town has already secured grants from the state of Connecticut to pay for the project.

The town plans to place the project out to bid in early 2023 and hopes to secure a contractor in February or March to begin work next spring.

More information the phase 1 portion of this project is available from the town.

A group of Avon residents opposing the phase 1 project built a website, Facebook page and spearheaded a campaign that included many “Vote No” lawn signs around town.

Design work is still underway on the second phase of this project, the East/West section of Old Farms Road from the intersection of Thompson Road to Tillotson Road. Two bridges would need to be replaced. That portion of the project is not part of Phase 1 proposal and will be subject to an additional referendum vote.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in News