Connect with us


2022 Pequot Conference All-Stars and awards presented

Valley Regional/Old Lyme’s D’Angelo Jean-Pierre was named the Pequot Conference’s Sassacus Division player of the year.

The Pequot Football Conference recently released their 2022 All-Star sections along with player of the year and coach of the year selections.

Valley Regional/Old Lyme’s versatile D’Angelo Jean-Pierre was named the player of the year in the Sassacus Division with SMSA co-op’s Daniel Hernandez named player of the year in the Uncas Division.

Kevin Quinn of the SMSA co-op was named coach of the year while SMSA’s Tomai Tillman was honored with the league’s Teddy Netcoh award.

Seven Granby/Canton players were named to the Pequot Conference’s All-Uncas Division team. The Bears finished second in the Uncas Division behind SMSA co-op.

Jean Pierre helped lead the Warriors to the Sassacus Division title and a spot in the Class SS championship game where Valley Regional/Old Lyme lost to Joel Barlow.

Jean Pierre did a little bit of everything for the Warriors, rushing for eight touchdowns, catching 27 passes for 405 yards and nine touchdowns while returning one punt for touchdowns. He had six interceptions on the season, running back two for touchdowns.

Hernandez was a multi-dimensional threat for the Tigerhawks, rushing for a team-leading 2,024 yards and 23 touchdowns on 228 carries. As quarterback, he completed 68 of 127 passes for 1,050 yards and 16 TDs. He ran for nine two-point conversions.

Hernandez helped SMSA co-op, which consisted of players from SMSA, Bulkeley, Hartford Classical and Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy (HMTCA) and University High, to win the Uncas Division title with a 10-0 record.

It’s the first undefeated season in SMSA’s history and their first championship pennant since winning a three-time Freedom Conference in 2005.

In his sixth season, Quinn also helped led the Tigerhawks to their third CIAC tournament berth with an appearance in the Class M tournament.

Tillman, who won the Teddy Netcoh award, had 93 tackles, including 8½ for a loss for SMSA co-op along with one interception and one fumble recovery.

2022 Pequot Conference awards

Player of the Year
Sassacus Division: D’Angelo Jean-Pierre, Valley Regional/OL
Uncas Division: Daniel Hernandez, SMSA co-op

Pequot Conference Coach of the Year: Kevin Quinn, SMSA co-op
Teddy Netcoh Award: Tomai Tillman, SMSA co-op

2022 Sassacus Division All-Stars
QB: Cole Brisson, Cromwell/Portland; Tyler Baldwin, Morgan; Mason Provencher, North Branford
RB: Jacon Rand, Valley Regional/OL; Hashim Jones, Capital Prep/AF
WR: Tate Callender, Haddam-Killingworth; Ryan Rozich, Cromwell/Portland; Jack Nye, Morgan; Di’Angelo Jean-Pierre, Valley Regional/OL
OL: Jack Williams, Cromwell/Portland; Lucian Depino, North Branford; Adam Metz, Valley Regional/OL; Dalton Bates, Coginchaug co-op; Ezrah Hatcher, Capital Prep/AF; Sam Bourez, Valley Regional/OL
Kicker: Wyatt Solosky, Haddam-Killingworth
Flex: Thomas Hansen, North Branford

DB: Derek Wilson, Cromwell/Portland; Jack Meehan, North Branford; Nehemiah Johnson, Capital Prep/AF; Nick Cox, Valley Regional/OL
LB: Tyler Serenson, North Branford; Joe Montazella, Valley Regional/OL; Matt Gish, Cromwell/Portland; Trevor Dixon, Haddam-Killingworth;
DL: Emeka Yearwood, Cromwell/Portland; Luke Blomster, North Branford; Max Novak, Valley Regional/OL; Isaiah Augustus, Capital Prep/AF; Jayden Fulton, Haddam-Killingworth
P: Elisa Defaranos, North Branford
Utility: BenFagan, Cromwell/Portland

2022 Uncas Division Division All-Stars
QB: Daniel Hernandez, SMSA co-op; William Migliaccio, Granby/Canton
RB: Malachi Mapp, Rockville; Justin Morle, Windsor Locks/Suffield/EG
WR: Elijah Miller, Ellington; Zahkeer Kerr, SMSA co-op; Connor Marchi, Stafford/East Windsor/Somers; Connor Richardson, Granby/Canton
OL: Denote William, SMSA co-op; Kaleb Arcouette, Stafford/EW/Somers; Cooper Boyd, Granby/Canton; Brady Vale, Ellington; Jackson Torres, Rockville
Kicker: Anthony Cichon, Coventry
Flex: Will Attianese, Granby/Canton

DB: Hassan Green, Rockville; Aidan Walker, Windsor Locks/Suffield/EG, Tamir Gamble, SMSA co-op; George Horst, Granby/Canton; Ju-Sean Thomas, CREC co-op
LB: Dante Mangiafico, Ellington; Luke Maher, Granby/Canton; Nate Palmer, Rockville; Tomai Tillman, SMSA co-op
DL: Ifeoluwa Oluborode, SMSA co-op; J.T. Dwire, Rockville; Joe Pease, Stafford; Saladin Atkinson, Granby/Canton
P: Russell Smith, SMSA co-op; Utility; Zack Donovan, Stafford

2022 standings

Pequot Conference

2022 Pequot Sassacus Division Overall
x-Cromwell/Portland 7-0 9-1
Valley Regional/Old Lyme 6-1 9-1
Haddam-Killingworth 4-3 6-4
North Branford 4-3 6-4
Capital Prep/Achievement First 3-4 3-7
Morgan 2-4 3-7
Coginchaug/Hale Ray/East Hampton 1-6 1-9
Old Saybrook/Westbrook 0-7 0-10
 2022 Pequot Uncas Division Overall
x-SMSA co-op 7-0 10-0
Granby/Canton 6-1 8-2
Rockville 5-2 8-2
Ellington 4-3 7-3
Stafford/East Windsor/Somers 3-4 4-6
Windsor Locks/Suffield/East Granby 2-5 3-7
CREC co-op 1-6 3-7
Coventry/Wind. Tech/Bolton/Lyman 0-7 1-9
x-clinched division title
SMSA co-op includes players from Sports Medicine Science Academy (host), Bulkeley, Classical Magnet, HMTCA and University High

2021 Pequot Conference All-Stars and awards

2014 Pequot Conference All-Stars and awards
2013 Pequot Conference All-Stars and awards
2012 Pequot Conference All-Stars and awards
2011 Pequot Conference All-Stars and awards
2010 Pequot Conference All-Stars
2009 Pequot Conference All-Stars
2008 Pequot Conference All-Stars

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in Football