Fortnite Gratuits Premium Netflix Gratuits
Avon wins CCC North White championship meet for 2nd straight year – The Collinsville Press
Connect with us


Avon wins CCC North White championship meet for 2nd straight year

The Avon High boys swimming team won their second consecutive CCC North White championship meet on Friday with a dominant performance. (Photo courtesy B. Jaremko)

WETHERSFIELD, March 3 – The Avon High boys swimming team put the finishing touches on an outstanding regular season campaign five individual champions and three winning relays at the Central Connecticut Conference’s North White division championship meet Friday at Wethersfield High.

The Falcons (13-2, 5-0 CCC North White) won the North White championship meet for the second consecutive year with a dominating 363 to 201 win over Wethersfield.

Kyle Emery swept the 100-yard freestyle and 100 backstroke while Max Jaremko (200-yard freestyle), Andre Richard (50 free), Brendan Downey (diving) and Adam Zapatka (500 free) each won individual events. Zapatka’s time of 4:54.35 set a new meet record by nearly three seconds. 

Avon won all three relay races taking the 200 medley relay (Emery, Sam Johnson, Laura Pringle, Andre Richard), the 200 freestyle relay (Jaremko, Zaire Griffin, Justin Arroyo, Richard) and the 400 freestyle relay (Jaremko, Zapatka, Arroyo, Emery) that set a new meet and school record.

Avon’s winning time in the 400 freestyle relay of 3:25.64 broke the meet record set a year ago by another Avon team (Richard, Jaremko, Emery and Riley Strassner) in 3:25.98.

Another long-time record fell on Friday afternoon. Senior Laura Pringle broke the school’s 12-year old record in the 100 butterfly with her time of 58.43 – good enough for third place. It broke the record set by current U.S. National Team swimmer Madison Kennedy (59.47) set back in 2004.

Pringle was also second in the 100 backstroke with a time of 59.14. Emery won the event in 55.53 seconds. Avon had four swimmers in the top 10 with Emily Boswell (1:03.79) and Megan Boswell (1:03.87) finishing fifth and sixth, respectively, and Jade Strassner (1:07.37) taking tenth.

Sarah Preleski (fifth in 200 freestyle, 6th in 500 freestyle), Annie Hayes (7th in 200 free, 10th in 100 butterfly), Emily Boswell (10th in 500 free) also earned top 10 finishes for the Falcons.

Jaremko beat Zapatka won by 0.83 of a second to win the 200 freestyle with his winning time of 1:48.57. The next swimmer was nearly five seconds behind.

Avon had five of the top 10 swimmers in the 50 freestyle with Andre Richard winning with a time of 23.08 seconds. Zaire Griffin was third in 23.65 seconds with Chris Chute (sixth, 24.31), Jared Culbertson (seventh, 24.70) and Sam Finch (tenth, 25.30) all finishing in the top 10.

Avon had three of the top four swimmers in the 100 freestyle with Emery winning with a time of 50.37 seconds, beating Newington’s Robert Nagy by 0.49 of a second. Richard was third (52.17) while Griffin (52.18) was fourth – a blink of an eye behind. Chute was tenth in 55.03 seconds.

The top two swimmers in the 500 freestyle were Zapatka, who won in 4:54.35 followed by Jaremko in 4:57.74. The next swimmer was nearly 23 seconds behind.

The Falcons had five of the top 10 swimmers in the 100 backstroke with Emery winning in 55.53 followed by Pringle in 59.14 seconds. Emily Boswell (fifth), Megan Boswell (sixth) and Jade Strassner (tenth) rounded out the top 10.

Other top 10 finishes for the Falcons came from Justin Arroyo (fifth in 200 IM, seventh in 100 fly) and Sam Johnson (sixth in 200 IM).

Diving results were not available and haven’t been added to the team scores. Even without diving, Avon set a new school record for most points scored in a conference championship meet. The Falcons scored 313 points a year ago in their first season in the CCC North White.

Avon returns to the pool on Saturday for the Class M trials at Masuk in Monroe.

2017 CCC North White Championship meet
At Wethersfield
Team results (minus diving): 1. Avon 363, 2. Wethersfield 201, 3. E.O. Smith/Tolland 199, 4. Newington 181, 5. Rocky Hill 124, 6. Hartford Public 54
200-yard medley relay: Avon (Kyle Emery, Sam Johnson, Laura Pringle, Andre Richard) 1:43. 87, 2. Newington 1:47.53, 3. E.O. Smith/Tolland 1:49.05, 4. Wethersfield 1:51.73, 5. Avon B (Megan Boswell, Jared Culbertson, Emily Foley, Zaire Griffin) 1:54.28, 6. Rocky Hill 1:57.64
200 free: 1. Max Jaremko (A) 1:49.57, 2. Adam Zapatka (A) 1:50.40, 3. Blake Fulton (W) 1:54.92, 4. Shane Bresnahan (W) 1:59.43, 5. Sarah Preleski (A) 2:00.99, 6. Daniel Broderick(EOS/T) 2:02.40
200 IM: 1. Joseph Sullivan (RH) 2:08.01, 2. Michael Allo (N) 2:08.47, 3. Maksym Ugrak (N) 2:13.04, 4. Holden Hoon (W) 2:13.09, 5. Justin Arroyo (A) 2:13.59, 6. Sam Johnson (A) 2:14.16
50 free: 1. Andre Richard (A) 23.08, 2. Robert Nagy (N) 23.38, 3. Zaire Griffin (A) 23.65, 4. Daniel Ward (EOS/T) 23.79, 5. Jack Blaidsell (W) 24.12, 6. Chris Chute (A) 23.31
Diving: 1. Brendan Downey (A). Remainder of results unavailable
100 butterfly: Daniel Ward (EOS/T) 56.24, 2. Maksym Ugrak (N) 58.25, 3. Laura Pringle (A) 58.43, 4. John Barrow (EOS/T) 58.90, 5. Austin Bovino (W) 58.97, 6. Matthew Iallonadro (W) 1:00.77
100 freestyle: 1. Kyle Emery (A) 50.37, 2. Robert Nagy (N) 50.86, 3. Andre Richard (A) 52.17, 4. Zaire Griffin (A) 52.18, 5. Blake Fulton (W) 52.28, 6. Adam Chao (RH) 53.97
500 freestyle: 1. Adam Zapatka (A) 4:54.35, new meet record. Old mark: Wethersfield’s Matthew Gerarde, 4:57.86, 2012; 2. Max Jaremko (A) 4:57.74, 3. Brian Speers (RH) 5:20.58, 4. Shane Bresnahan (W) 5:22.39, 5 Daniel Broderick (EOS/T) 5:26.68, 6. Sarah Preleski (A) 5:30.09
200 free relay: 1. Avon (Max Jaremko, Zaire Griffin, Justin Arroyo, Andre Richard) 1:33.32, 2. Wethersfield 1:38.50, 3. Avk   (Jared Culbertson, Brendan Downey, Chris Chutes, Alex Traktovenko) 1:39.84, 4. Wethersfield B 1:41.54, 5. Rocky Hill 1:43.23, 6. E.O. Smith/Tolland 1:43.66
100 backstroke: 1. Kyle Emery (A) 55.53, 2. Laura Pringle (A) 59.14, 3. Riley Beckham (EOS/T) 1:00.35, 4. Adam Chao (RH) 1:03.03, 5. Emily Boswell (A) 1:03.79, 6. Megan Boswell (A) 1:03.87
100 breast stroke: 1. Michael Allo (N) 1:05.44, 2. Sam Johnson (A) 1:05.57, 3. Caleb Skowronek (W) 1:05.99, 4. Alex Traktovenko (A) 1:06.29, 5. Joseph Sullivan (RH) 1:06.67, 6. Paul Issac (EOS/T) 1:08.81
400 free relay: 1. Avon (Max Jaremko, Adam Zapatka, Justin Arroyo, Kyle Emery) 3:25.64, new meet record. Old record — Avon, 3:25.98, 2016; 2. EO Smith/Tolland 3:33.92, 3. Newington 3:35.37, 4. Wethersfield 3:40.98, 5. Rocky Hill 3:44.47, 6. EO Smith/Tolland B 3:45.43
NOTE: This meet was known as the CCC East championship meet before being renamed CCC North White in 2016.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Swimming