Fortnite Gratuits Premium Netflix Gratuits
With four players in top 12, Avon boys win first state title in golf in 32 years – The Collinsville Press
Connect with us

Boys Golf

With four players in top 12, Avon boys win first state title in golf in 32 years

The Avon High boys golf team won their first state championship since 1985 with a three-stroke win over New Canaan on Monday.

HEBRON, June 5 – Junior Tyler Hahn shot a two-under-par 70 and the Avon High boys golf team put four players in the top 12 as the Falcons won their first state championship in golf in 32 years with a slim three-stroke win over New Canaan at the CIAC Division II championships here at Tallwood Country Club.

Avon (19-3-1, 8-0 CCC Central White) had come close before. Six times in the last seven years, they finished in the top four in Division II including with a second place finish behind New Canaan in 2010.

But this was the year the Falcons took home the championship trophy. Hahn led the way with a 70, sinking four birdies, including one on the final hole. With four birdies, freshman Michael Hanratty finished tied for two-way tie for fifth place with a 74 while senior Jake Avery finished tied for tenth with a five-over par 77, including a birdie on the final hole.

Junior Sam Cuddeback shot a 78 to finish tied for 12th while senior Peter Gerosa shot a 90. The Falcons shot a 299, setting a team record in CIAC tournaments for Avon. New Canaan was just three shots back with a 302.

Wetherfield’s Andrew Sanzaro won the individual title with a five-under 67 while Finn Boynton of Notre Dame-West Haven second with a 68. Hahn was third and his top five finish earned him a trip to the New England golf tournament in Keene, N.H., later this month.

“I thought we’d be good, but I didn’t know we could be this good,” Avon coach Josh Glick told “It’s a great moment for Avon golf and for those kids right there. It’s something they will never forget and something I will never forget.”

The last time that Avon won a state championship in golf was in 1985 when the Falcons beat Holy Cross by one stroke to win the Division II championship with a score of 332.

The championship capped off a tremendous season for the Falcons. “The team has played great all season with different members of our team contributing at different times,” Glick said.

The Falcons won the CCC Central White Division for the second straight year but they added an impressive performance at the recent Central Connecticut Conference tournament.

Led by Hahn with a 74 and Avery with a 76, the Falcons nipped Wethersfield by one stroke to win their first CCC championship, 309-310 at Stanley Golf Course in New Britain. Gerosa had a 79 while Hanratty shot an 80.

In its second year in the CCC, the Falcons won the league championship by taking the CCC Tournament in New Britain in May.

The 19 wins was the most in a single season for the Falcons since winning 20 matches in the 2009 season.

Five different players won medalist honors throughout the season – Avery, Hahn, Hanratty, Gerosa and Jack Schmittlein. Avery won or shared medalist honors six times while Hanratty won or shared medalist honors five times. Hahn won or shared medalist honors three times.

Earlier in May, Avery and Hahn won the Connecticut 2-man best ball Invitational event shooting a 6-under-par 66 at Blackledge to beat the duos from Suffield and Wethersfield by three strokes. Hanratty and teammate Sam Cuddeback shot a 73 to finish sixth out of 42 teams at the event.

CIAC Division II golf championships
At Hebron (Tallwood CC)
Team results – 1. Avon 299 (+11); 2. New Canaan 302 (+14); 3. Wethersfield 306 (+18); 4. Notre Dame-West Haven 317 (+29); T5. Woodstock Academy 321 (+33); T5. Masuk 321 (+33); 7. Joel Barlow 323 (+35); 8. Daniel Hand 336 (+48); 9. Berlin 337 (+49); T10. E.O. Smith 338 (+50); T10. Weston 338 (+50); 12. Branford 339 (+51); T13. Guilford 344 (+56); T13. Platt 344 (+56); T15. Jonathan Law 353 (+65); T15. Torrington 353 (+65); 17. RHAM 354 (+66); 18. Brookfield 359 (+71); 19. Lyman Hall 366 (+78); 20. North Haven 374 (+86)
Andrew Sanzaro, Wethersfield 67 (-5)
Finn Boynton, Notre Dame-West Haven 68 (-4)
Tyler Hahn, Avon 70 (-2)
Patrick Granito, New Canaan 73 (+1)
Grant Mellinger, New Canaan 74 (+2)
Michael Hanratty, Avon 74 (+2)
George Garrett, New Canaan 75 (+3)
Ryan Black, Woodstock Academy 75 (+3)
Matthew Manjos, Masuk 76 (+4)
Jake Avery, Avon 77 (+5)
Michael Brown, Joel Barlow 77 (+5)
Other Avon golfers
Sam Cuddeback, Avon 78 (+6)
Peter Gerosa 90 (+18)

CCC Tournament
At New Britain
Team results — 1. Avon 309; 2. Wethersfield 310; 3. NW Catholic 316; 4. Conard 317; 5. Simsbury 318; 6. Glastonbury 322; 7. Berlin 327; 8. Southington 329; 9. Newington 332; 10. Hall 332; 11. Farmington 336; 12. South Windsor 336; 13. Manchester 340; 14. Tolland 349; 15. RHAM 351; 16. Rocky Hill 352; 17. E.O. Smith 352; 18. Platt 359; 19. Enfield  371; 20. Maloney 373; 21. Bristol Central 376; 22. East Catholic 378; 23. Middletown 389; 24. Bristol Eastern 425; 25. Plainville 444

Top 10 results
Individual results – 1. A.J. Sanzaro, Wethersfield 69, 2. Justin Defina, NWC 71, 3. Mac Mahoney, Hall 73, 4. Matt Chorches, Conard, Tyler Hahn, Avon, Sean Lelasher, Glastonbury 74, 7. Kevin McDonough, Simsbury, Jared Walker, South Windsor 75, 9. Luke Carroll, Conard, Jake Avery, Avon 76
Other Avon results — Peter Gerosa 79, Michael Hanratty 80


Since 2009, the Collinsville Press has been providing award-winning coverage of sports and news in the Farmington Valley and across Connecticut.

More in Boys Golf