Connect with us


Lewis Mills wins 3rd state title in four years in Boys Fours; Captures Perry Plate

Lewis Mills’ Boys Four crew team won a state title for the third time in four years at the Connecticut Public Schools Rowing Association championships. From left, Spencer Politz, Mike McGough, Nick Cavoli, and Nick Mascoli. (Photo courtesy Cory Mazon)

NEW PRESTON, May 19, 2019 – The Lewis Mills crew program had a great afternoon at the Connecticut Public Schools Rowing Association championship regatta at Lake Waramaug.

Mills won the Perry Trophy for overall excellence in fours – teams of four people rowing together. Seven of Mills’ teams in Fours competition made the finals and the varsity Boys Four boat won the state championship for the third time in four years.

Simsbury won the Girls Varsity 8 title for the first time since 2014 while Avon’s Boys Four boat finished third and their Girls Four boat finished sixth.

Lewis Mills has won the state title in Boys Four in 2016 and 2018. This year, the Spartans (Jordan Carr, cox; Spencer Politz, Mike McGough, Nick Cavoli and Nick Mascoli) easily won their first heat in 5:16.05 and in the final, they easily won with a time of 5:08.0. Middletown was a distant second with a time of 5:17.4 followed by Avon in 5:26.9.

It’s the fastest time in a Boys Four final since the regatta began in 2000. Mills broke the finals record set by Lyme/Old Lyme in 2012 with a time of 5:09.9.

Lewis Mills won the Perry Plate for best performance among teams in the four-person divisions. From left, head coach Kyle Saraceno, Nick Cavoli, Spencer Politz, Lucas Brown, Emly Facey, Jessi Lay, Hannah Howard and coach Donning Dunning. (Photo courtesy Dawn Politz)

Mills’ teams also won the Second Boys Four, Novice Boys Four and Novice Girls Four while taking second in Third Girls Four and third in Girls Four and Second Girls Four.

Simsbury’s Girls Varsity 8 won their heat in 5:18.5 and then dominated in the final with a time of 5:09.7, a comfortable three seconds ahead of second place East Lyme in 5:12.3.

It was the ninth Girls Varsity 8 title for Simsbury since the regatta began in 2000 and the first since 2014.

Lewis Mills won the Boys Four championship with a meet record time. From left to right: coach Donna Dunning, Nick Cavoli, Jordan Carr (coxswain), Mike McGough, Spencer Politz, Nick Mascoli and head coach Kyle Saraceno. (Photo courtesy Dawn Politz)

2019 Connecticut Public School Rowing Association championships
At New Preston (Lake Waramaug)
First Boys Eight
1. Glastonbury 4:39.7, 2. Simsbury 4:41.9, 3. Farmington 4:42.3, 4. Lyme/Old Lyme 4:42.4, 5. Stonington 4:43.1, 6. East Lyme 4:44.7

First Girls Eight
1. Simsbury 5:09.7, 2. East Lyme 5:12.3, 3. Glastonbury 5:14.5, 4. E.O. Smith 5:23.8, 5. Guilford 5:24.6, 6. Stonington 5:26.0

First Boys Fours
1. Lewis Mills 5:08.0, 2. Middletown 5:17.4, 3. Avon 5:26.9, 4. Middletown 5:17.4, 5. Old Saybrook 5:26.6, 6. E.O. Smith 5:41.3

First Girls Fours
1. Lyme/Old Lyme 5:34.3, 2. Valley Regional 5:40.6, 3. Lewis Mills 5:40.9, 4. Glastonbury 5:45.1, 5. Old Saybrook 6:06.2, 6. Avon 6:15.3

First Novice Girls Eight
1. Glastonbury 5:49.1, 2. Guilford 5:52.4, 3. Farmington 5:52.9,4. Avon 6:06.9, 5. Stonington 6:07.0, 6. Lyme/Old Lyme 6:07.1

First Novice Boys Eight
1. Stonington 5:05.2, 2. Lyme/Old Lyme 5:05.7, 3. Glastonbury 5:05.4, 4. Guilford 5:10.9, 5. East Lyme 5:16.9, 6. Simsbury 5:28.1

More results

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of The Collinsville Press. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Crew